Linux Boot Process

Do you know what happens behind, when you press the power button until the Linux login prompt appears?

There are 6 high level stages for a typical Linux boot process.


Stage 1 : BIOS (Basic Input Output Systems)

Stage 2 : MBR (Master Boot Records)

Stage 3 : GRUB (Grand Unified Boot-loader)

Stage 4 : Kernel

Stage 5 : INIT

Stage 6 : Run Level Programs


Lets look at the process carried out in each stage. Below diagram illustrates the same.

Print   Email